Any building is the product of a partnership between the client, the contractor and the architect. These participants can measure success in many ways. Independent awards programs are another measure. They look back at the outcome and judge the work against an objective standard. In most cases, a jury of architects and other professionals makes the selection from anonymous submissions.


National AIA Honor Award for Architecture

1993, Colton Palms Apartments

1983, 38 East Schiller


National AIA Honor Award for Interiors

2003, Gardner-James Residence

1996, Gardner Residence

1993, U.S. Robotics


AIA California, Distinguished Building Award

2013, University of California San Diego Rita Atkinson Residences


AIA Chicago, Distinguished Building Award

2012, University of California San Diego Rita Atkinson Residences

2006, Kresge Foundation Headquarters

2004, Lipson Alport Glass Headquarters

2004, Doblin Residence

1993, Colton Palms Apartments

1991, Coosa Pines Health Center

1991, Ohio Street House


AIA Chicago, Award for Interiors

2013, School of the Art Institute of Chicago – LeRoy Neiman Center

2012, Juniper Networks: Open Lab

2011, World of Whirlpool

2007, Garmin International Flagship Store

2006, Kresge Foundation Headquarters

2002, Zenith Electronics Corporation

2001, Turner Construction Offices

2000, Offices

2000, USG Solutions Center

1999, 3Com Corporate Offices

1997, WMA Consulting Engineers

1997, NBC Broadcast Studios

1996, U.S. Robotics, Uwest

1995, U.S. Robotics U2

1995, Gardner Residence

1992, USG Interiors


AIA Chicago, Urban Design Award

2009, Chicago 2016 Olympics Master Plan


AIA Chicago, Divine Detail Award

2001, 3Com Corporate Office Stair


AIA Chicago, Sustainable Design Award

2007, Kresge Foundation Headquarters


AIA Chicago, Firm Award, 1999


AIA Illinois, Mies Van Der Rohe

2013, UCSD Rita Atkinson Residences (Citation of Merit)

2013, EnV (Special Recognition)


AIA Illinois, Firm Award, 1997


Society of College and University Planners (SCUP) Excellence in Architecture

2011, UCSD Rita Atkinson Residences


AIA Committee on Education, Merit Award

2011, UCSD Rita Atkinson Residences


Center for the Built Environment, U.C. Berkeley, Highest User Satisfaction

2010, Kresge Foundation Headquarters


Engineering Society of Detroit, Outstanding Achievement

2008, Kresge Foundation Headquarters


California Construction, Best of Office Building

2008, eBay B-17


Chicago Tribune, Architect of the Year, 2006


Architect Magazine

2013, Top 50 Design Firms


Architectural Record, Record Houses

2003, Doblin Residence

1991, Ohio Street House


Architectural Record, Best Managed Firms in America, 1998

Friends of Downtown, Best Master Plan

2006, Columbia College Chicago Campus Master Plan


Interior Design Best Of Year Awards

2013, School of the Art Institute of Chicago – LeRoy Neiman CenterĀ (Honoree)

2013, SanDisk Headquarters (Honoree)

2012, Juniper Networks: OpenLab (Honoree)


The History Channel, Infinity Design Excellence Award, City of the Future, 2006